Well January 2017 in in double digits and I’m saying to you all

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

I hope that everyone has had a safe and joyful festive season wherever in the world you are.

Training for a marathon at this time of year has its challenges with the biggest one probably being time. There are many conflicting events and responsibilities and it’s often a challenge to fit everything in. I’m probably a bad friend, but this year I was quite strict and learnt to say no so I didn’t sacrifice training, but also just so hubby and I could stay sane. It was a good call.

There were however complications with training.

Firstly we had a 2 week cruise vacation planned. Our first “proper” vacation in 4 years. Running was all either on a treadmill or laps of the running track. This meant my plan was tweaked for no Long Runs. Not so bad. The real impact to training came from a nasty chest cold which caught just before New Year and made its way around the cruise ship. There were days in bed, and many many days without running, but by the time we returned home I managed to implement a “bare minimum” training plan focusing on getting my long run in and then anything else I could manage.

A highlight was my first run on “dry land” when the cruise ship docked in Singapore. It was very slow, hot and sweaty but you couldn’t wipe the smile from my face.

DCIM143GOPROG0048965.JPG
Running in Singapore with the Marina Bay Sands Hotel in the Background

This was all done under the guidance of my family doctor who it fully supportive of my running and this week the cold is 99% gone and I am in the process of completing my first full week of marathon training since the 18th of December, 2016.

Whilst unwell, any runner will tell you that the mind plays tricks on you. It tells you that because you miss a session, you won’t finish a marathon, amongst many other crazy thoughts. My experience was no different and my mood was negative and grumpy. The only thing that kept me a little grounded in this regard was my yoga. Gentle stretching and listening to my body taught me to focus on what I could do, not what I couldn’t and this is the message I’d like to share.

When it comes to your training, you are exactly where you should be, it will not be the same place that the person next to you is, (or even where you expected yourself to be), and that’s OK. Honour that. It’s only by respecting where we are, that the plans we make to move forward can be realistic and achievable.

From a running point of you, it will be easier to smile as well.

Until next time……

Xxxx Lesl

