Working out and appearance are often closely linked. I started running because I wanted to lose some weight. I wanted to “look better”. The irony is that to be completely truthful, I would avoid working out because it was “too sweaty” and I didn’t want to wash my hair all the time. Yes, this is incredibly superficial however I wasn’t the first and I won’t be the last person to schedule their exercise around a hair schedule.

Fortunately I have moved on (well at least a little) and worked out that a sweaty workout doesn’t have to be the end of presentable hair. By choice I don’t have wash & wear hair and between the bleach and the pink and the blow dry I invest more than a little in my do so I’m pleased to have gotten to this point. Here are a few of my tips for reaching this balance and not washing my hair after every workout.
The first thing to do is to come to terms with the fact that your hair will get all sweaty, and then deal with it. If your hair was up in a pony/bun/headband… take it out as soon as you finish your workout. Then, when you can, using the cold setting on your hair dryer, blow dry your hair. Once dry, you can use dry shampoo or styling products to finish off your style.

The other thing to consider is the best way to wear your hair when you’re working out. Work with your natural style. For me, I have quite wavy hair, so a curly blow dry or the use of hot rollers gives a good base to start with. Then there are a bunch of options:
1. It’s easy to do a pony under a cap and this is usually my first choice, however
2. two pigtails is a style that I find preserves a blow dry best.
3. Headbands tend to flatten my hair too much so I avoid them
4. Visors let the scalp breathe and minimises the amount of sweat that sticks to the hair.
5. For longer hair, braids are great as you can mimimise fly aways and can give hair a nice curl as well.

Everyone is different so play around and have fun to find what works for you.
It’s also a good idea to use products to protect your hair. Leave in conditioners with UV protection are good for those long outside workouts. Using a hair mask as a conditioner is something I do to give my hair more moisture and strength. Again, these are what work for me so find out what works for you. In general, the better the condition of the hair, the better it will cope with what you need to do to look after it.

This leads me to my final point. Visit your hairdresser regularly and be truthful and realistic about what your hair goes through between visits. They know hair and can give plenty of practical advice as you how to keep your hair looking its best, with less effort and without having to wear it in a ponytail all the time.

I personally recommend Access Hair based in Balmain and Summer Hill, Sydney and greatly value all their support for 261 Fearless and my Boston Marathon journey.

http://www.accesshair.com.au/

 

